The state of Illinois have enacted a
new law which raises the minimum wage.
The new law increases the minimum wage to $9.25 per hour
beginning January 1, 2020.
On July 1, 2020 the minimum wage will increase to
$10.00 per hour.
Beginning January 1, 2021 and each year after until
January 1, 2025 the minimum wage will increase by $1.00
until it reaches $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2025.
The minimum wage in Illinois is currently $8.25.
Additionally, the new law authorizes the Department of Labor
to perform random audits of employer to ascertain compliance
with the Minimum Wage
Employers must maintain payroll records.
A penalty of $100 per employee for failure to
maintain required records. Effective immediately.
The law also provides to employers with 50 or fewer
full-time equivalent employees a credit against tax withheld
beginning January 1, 2020. Reduces the credit beginning
January 1, 2021. Provides employers may claim the credit
amount in effect on January 1, 2025 until December 31, 2026
and that employers with no more than 5 employees may claim
that credit until December 31, 2027.