INTERNET MARKETING

 

 
INTERNET MARKETING

Good, bad, ugly? Know your customer type and act accordingly
11 Effective Ways to Use Facebook Ads
9 Strategies for Using Customer Testimonials in Your Content
States With No Corporate Income Tax Rate
Ohio
Nevada
South Dakota
Texas
Washington
Wyoming
Key Economic Indicators
Item Rate
CPI: 0.0% (Jun 2017) 
GDP Growth: 1.2% (1st Qtr 2017)
Prime Interest Rate: 4.25%
Consumer Confidence: 118.9% (Jun 2017)
Small Biz Confidence: 103.6% (Jun 2017)
Avg Gas Price: $2.25

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SMALL BUSINESS NEWS

21 Apr 2016

 

Email this page    

 

Washington State Increase Minimum Wage & Authorize Sick Leave

The people of   Washington state decided to vote yes in the 2016 referendum to increase the minimum wage from

$9.47 to $13.50 and require employers to provide paid sick leave.

The increases will take place annually between 2017 and 2020 as follows:

 

-$11.00    -  1 January 2017
-$11.50    -  1 January 2018
-$12.00    -  1 January 2019
-$13.50    -  1 January 2020

Beginning in January 2021 future increases in the minimum wage will be tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Tips and service charges paid to an employee are in addition to, and may not count towards, the employee's hourly minimum wage.

Beginning January 1, 2018, every employer must provide to each of its employees paid sick leave.

Employers must give their employees at least one hour of paid sick leave for every forty hours worked.

Employers may also provide paid sick leave in advance of accrual.

An employer may require verification from the employee when more than 3 days of sick leave is requested.

Unused paid sick leave carries over to the following year, except that an employer is not required to allow an employee to carry over paid sick leave in excess of forty hours.

Under this law an employer is not required to provide financial or other reimbursement for accrued and unused paid sick leave to any employee upon the employee's termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment.

When there is a separation from employment and the employee is rehired within twelve months of separation by the same employer, whether at the same or a different business location of the employer, previously accrued unused paid sick leave shall be reinstated and the previous period of employment shall be counted for purposes of determining the employee's eligibility to use paid sick leave.

Violations of this law will result in the employer being charged with a gross misdemeanour and subjected to paying legal fees and fully paying any unpaid amounts to their enployees.

See other States minimum wages.

Sources:
Washington State Ballot Initiative 1433
Washington State Secretary of State Website


By Bill Williams

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

  
 

INTERNET MARKETING

News Home

SBZ Home

 

  

     

                  Report broken links               Contact us              About us           Become a Contributor to this site            Link Exchange 

2012-2015 The Small Business Zone, Inc.  All rights reserved.