INTERNET MARKETING

 

 
INTERNET MARKETING

How to Negotiate the Best Office Lease for Your Startup

Are online lenders Safe?

How to Price A Menu for your Restaurant

States With No Corporate Income Tax Rate
Ohio
Nevada
South Dakota
Texas
Washington
Wyoming
Key Economic Indicators
Item Rate
CPI: 0.3% (Mar 2017) 
GDP Growth: 0.7% (1st Qtr 2017)
Prime Interest Rate: 4%
Consumer Confidence: 120.3% (Apr 2017)
Small Biz Confidence: 104.7% (Mar 2017)
Avg Gas Price: $2.35

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SMALL BUSINESS NEWS

7 Mar 2016

 

Email this page    

 

Employers Must Offer Paid Sick Leave in Oregon

Effective January 1, 2016 a new law goes into effect in Oregon which requqires employers to provide paid and unpaid sick leave to their employees.

According to the new law (Chapter 653.606 Oregon Code) all employers with 10 or more employees (​at least 6 for employers located in Portland) in Oregon must provide up to 40 hours of paid leave per year. 

Employers with less than 10 employees (less than 6 for employers located in Portland) must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid protected sick time.

Paid sick time shall accrue at the rate of at least one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours the employee works or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours the employee works.

Unpaid sick time shall accrue at the rate of at least one hour of unpaid sick time for every 30 hours the employee works or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours the employee works.

The number of employees employed by an employer shall be ascertained by determining that the per-day average number of employees is 10 or greater for each of 20 workweeks in the calendar year or the fiscal year of the employer immediately preceding the year in which the leave is to be taken.

An employee shall begin to earn and accrue sick time on the first day of employment with an employer. The employee may carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time from one year to a subsequent year. However, an employer may adopt a policy that limits:

 

(a) An employee to accruing no more than 80 hours of sick time; or

 

(b) An employee to using no more than 40 hours of sick time in a year.

Employers with 10 or more employees is not required to carry over unused sick time if they agree to pay the employee for unused sick leave at the end of the year in which the leave is accrued and credit the employee with an amount of paid sick time at the on the first day of the immediate subsequent year.

Employers with less than 10 employees are not required to carry over unused sick leave if they agree to credit the employee with sick leave on the first day of the immediate subsequent year.

Employees will be allowed to start using sick leave on the 91st calendar day of employment and may use sick t leave as it is accrued.  The employer may authorize an employee to use accrued sick leave prior to the 91st calendar day of employment.

An employer may not require an employee to find a replacement for their shift or work an alternate shift to make up for using sick leave.

An employer shall restore previously accrued unused sick time to an employee who is reemployed by that employer within 180 days of separation from employment with the employer.

 

Sources:
BOLI
Chapter 653.606 Oregon Code
Oregon Sick Leave Q&A


By Bill Williams

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

  
 

INTERNET MARKETING

News Home

SBZ Home

 

  

     

                  Report broken links               Contact us              About us           Become a Contributor to this site            Link Exchange 

2012-2015 The Small Business Zone, Inc.  All rights reserved.